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Offside
Position

Being in an offside position is not against Law 11.

An attacker was clearly past the second to last 
defender when a teammate struck the ball directly 
into the net.  The referee counted the goal.  Why?

•    interfere with play

•    interfere with an opponent

•    gain an advantage by being in that 
position

The player is not penalized for offside !

If the player in the offside position did not:

An offside position by itself is not enough to distract 
an opponent.
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WHAT iF ???

GOOOAAAL!!!!!!
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The attacker was right down at the goal line 
near the side of the net.  Didn’t that interfere 
with the goalkeeper?  Isn’t an attacker that 
close to the goal automatically interfering 
with play?

The attacker is not interfering with the goalkeeper 
unless the attacker:

•    blocks the goalkeeper’s view of play

•    is in the path of the goalkeeper

•    says or does something specifically to  
distract the goalkeeper
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OK

WHAT iF ???

GOOOAAAL!!!!!!
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If player A2 is behind, or even with, the ball when 
player A1 last touched the ball, there is no offside 
position and therefore no offside violation. 

Player A1 is attacking with no defenders in 
front of him except the goalkeeper.  Teammate 
A2 is following behind him.  What if player A1 
plays the ball and his teammate runs up to take 
possession?

Is this offside?

A2 was not nearer the goal line than the 
ball when the ball was played by A1.
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A1

A2
A2

WHAT iF ???
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The ball bounced
back from the 
crossbar to A2.  
A2 is called for 
offside for being 
“involved in active 
play” by “gaining 
an advantage.” 

Player A1 shoots on goal and the ball bounces 
back from the crossbar to A2?

Player A2 was in an 
offside position when 
A1 played the ball. 

A1

A2
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In either case, if A1’s original shot had gone into the net...

A2 is called
for offside for
being “involved
in active play” by 

“gaining an advantage.”  
The ball rebounded 
from the goalkeeper.

Player A1 shoots on goal and the ball bounces 
back from the goalkeeper to A2?

A1

A2

WHAT iF ???

GOOOOAAAL!!
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You say that an attacker must have played the 
ball before a teammate in an offside position can 
be called for offside.  What does “play the ball” 
mean here?

Law 11 refers to the ball being touched or played by a teammate.

There are a number of ways a player can “touch” or “play” the ball.  A 
few may be:
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•   Kick the ball

•   Chest trap

•   Head the ball

•   Stop the ball with a foot

“Play the ball” for an attacker 
means any contact by the player 
with the ball - even accidental or 
unintended contact.

WHAT iF ???
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Can an attacker step off the field to show that he 
is not participating in play?

YES

This is one of several ways an attacker can show they are 
not involved in active play.  It is legal and the attacker 
doesn’t need the referee’s permission either to leave the 
field or to return  it is considered “normal play.”

Attacker off field
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WHAT iF ???
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Defender off field

Can a defender step off the field to put an attacker 
in an offside position?

 NO

This defender is counted as one of the last two defenders, 
even though he is off the field.  Attacker #7 has two defenders 
in front of him.  He is not in an offside position.

8

Not only does this not work (the referee would still count 
the defender in determining offside position), but the 
defender is committing misconduct and could be cautioned.

Defender off field
(in the goal)

WHAT iF ???
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9 Does the 1st or 2nd defender have to be the 
goalkeeper?
NO

All defenders are counted in figuring out who the second to 
last defender is.

The goalkeeper moves 
to challenge for the ball 
and a  defender steps 
back to protect the 
goal.  The goalkeeper 
becomes the second to 
last defender.

There are two defenders 
between the attacker 
and the goal, neither of 
whom is the goalkeeper.

First De-
fender

Second
Defender

Goalkeeper

Goalkeeper

First De-
fender

WHAT iF ???
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10 The AR called offside but the referee waved the flag 
down.  Can the referee do that?

YES

•   The assistant referee does not “call” offside.

•   The assistant referee is in the best position to judge who 
is in an offside position.

•   The assistant referee’s flag is a signal that an attacker is 
in an offside position and might be involved in active play.

•   Active play, however, is often closer to the referee than 
to the assistant referee.

•   The referee is therefore usually in a better position to 
judge involvement.

Referee

AR

A1

A2

A3D2

D3

WHAT iF ???

•   The referee always makes the final decision about calling 
offside.
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11 Can a player be offside on a dropped ball?

NO

•    Offside position is judged only when the ball is 
touched or played by a teammate.

•    It is the referee who last touches the ball on a 
dropped ball restart so no one can be in an offside 
position at that moment.

•    But, once the ball hits the ground, it is possible to be 
called offside if it is your teammate, who takes part 
in the dropped ball, then plays the ball to you.

WHAT iF ???

•    If attacker #11 kicks the ball when it hits the ground, 
her teammate will be in an offside position!
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12 Can you be offside on a penalty kick?

•    One of the rules for the penalty kick is that, except for 
the goalkeeper, all players have to be behind the ball 
when the referee gives the signal for the kick to occur.

NO

•    The referee will not signal for the penalty kick if 
anyone other than the goalkeeper is ahead of the ball.

•    Once the ball is kicked, it is in play and the offside 
Law applies.

WHAT iF ???
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13 The referee called my player for offside even though he 
was way behind the second to last defender when he got 
the ball.  How can that be?

Coaches, players, and spectators tend to focus on the 
immediate area of play, but the referee and assistant 
referee have to remember where a player was when 
the play started.

•   It isn’t important where an attacker gets the ball, it’s 
where the attacker was when a teammate last played 
the ball

This player was in an offside position 
when the ball was played and “came back” 
to get the ball

WHAT iF ???
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14
Can an attacker do anything to avoid being called offside 
other than stepping off the field?

YES

•    Move away from the area of active play

•    Turn away

•    Make eye contact with the referee and  
stand still

•    Do anything that clearly indicates that 
you are not involved in the play

But
•    The action has to be clear and concrete

•    It has to be seen and recognized by the referee

WHAT iF ???
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Corner kicks are an exception in calling offside.  
But I’ve seen offside called on corner kicks.  Why? 

The exception applies only if the ball is received 
directly from the corner kick.

Once another attacker touches or plays the ball after a 
corner kick, it is no longer “directly” and the offside rules 
apply as usual.

“Directly” in soccer means no one else touched 
or played the ball.
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WHAT iF ???
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A2

A2 plays the ball directly from 
the corner kick.  A3 receives 
the ball from A2.  A3 must be 
called for offside.

15
A3

A1

A2

A2 receives the ball directly 
from the corner kick by A1, who 
then runs into the field.  A2 
plays the ball back to A1.  
A1 must be called for offside.

A1

A1

continued

WHAT iF ???
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Being in an offside position is not against the Law

An attacker in an offside position can become “onside” 
only if:

•    The ball leaves the field,

•    A teammate touches or plays the ball again, or

•    A defender plays (controls) the ball

Remember!!!

“Involvement in active play” is based on the opinion of the 
referee

Offside is called only if, when in an offside position, an 
attacker becomes involved in play by:

•    Interfering with play (for example, having the ball 
passed to you or running to the ball)

•    Interfering with an opponent (for example, blocking a 
player on the other team)

•    Gaining an advantage (for example, getting a ball that 
bounces off a crossbar)

Even if in an offside position, an attacker cannot be called 
offside if the ball is received directly from a:

•    Goal Kick

•    Corner Kick

•    Throw In

Offside position depends on where the attacker is at the 
time a teammate plays the ball

•    Ahead of the ball

•    Ahead of the second to last defender

•    In the other team’s half of the field

Not when or where the attacker gets the ball !
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